deenfr

05.04.2018

COMO in Bali – indulging with all of the senses

In the evening, candles are glowing on the tables, hidden little lights are gleaming on the walls – not to mention the stars shining in the sky. The wind touches on the branches of the palm trees, makes them rattle in a rhythmic melody: that to me is the typical sound of Bali. I can still hear it today, I just have to close my eyes for a moment.

There are cool cocktails on the small tables, later on it is time for dinner – that means going on a journey of Balinese cuisine with herbs from the garden and the freshest ingredients from the villages of the surrounding area. That is the way it is at the COMO Shambala Estate, the COMO Uma Ubud in the heart of Bali – and at the brand-new COMO Uma Canggu on the south coast, COMO’s first beach hotel on the Indonesian holiday island.

My favorite spot at the Uma Canggu, whose target group includes surfers: the COMO Beach Club – for dinner. Ocean view included! The architecture of the three hotels combines local influences with contemporary style. There is a narrow focus on what is essential so it never feels cluttered. I feel safe here, like in a cocoon.

Each of these hotels is on par with its own aspirations as well as the guests’ desires. That is a lot to live up to, but it comes off smoothly and with ease. I found just one discernible downside: time still trickles away and eventually, the return flight awaits. Unfortunately.

ende

05.04.2018

COMO auf Bali – Genuss mit allen Sinnen

Abends, da leuchten die Kerzen auf den Tischen, die versteckten Lämpchen an den Wänden. Und die Sterne am Himmel. Der Wind fährt ab und zu in die Wedel der Palmen, lässt sie rhythmisch aufeinander klappern, als wollte er Musik damit machen: Für mich ist es der typische Bali-Sound. Ich höre ihn heute noch, muss dafür nur kurz die Augen schließen.

Auf dem Tischchen stehen kühle Cocktails, später geht es zum Abendessen – eintauchen in eine Reise durch die balinesische Küche, mit Gewürzen aus dem eigenen Garten, frischesten Zutaten aus den Dörfern der Umgebung. So ist das im COMO Shambala Estate und im COMO Uma Ubud im Herzen Balis – und im brandneuen COMO Uma Canggu an der Südküste, dem ersten Strandhotel der Marke auf der indonesischen Urlaubsinsel.

Mein Lieblingsplatz dort im Uma Canggu, zu dessen Zielgruppe Wellenreiter gehören: der COMO Beach Club – zum Dinner. Mit Meerblick! Die drei Hotels vereinen in ihrer Architektur lokale Einflüsse mit zeitgenössischem Stil. Nie sind sie überladen, immer auf das Wesentliche reduziert. Geborgen fühle ich mich hier, wie in einem Kokon.

Jedes dieser drei Hotels misst sich am eigenen Anspruch und an den Wünschen der Gäste. Das ist viel. Und es gelingt mit unbeschwerter Leichtigkeit. Einen Nachteil nur habe ich bemerkt: dass die Zeit trotzdem verrinnt und irgendwann der Rückflug ansteht. Leider.